Utah Eviction Laws

If a residential landlord wants to evict a tenant from a rental property in Utah they must adhere to the Utah eviction procedures set forth in the state statutes. These statutes are very similar to most other state statutes with regard to eviction. Utah statutes to adhere to are:

Tenant Self-Eviction is Unlawful in Utah

A landlord in Utah has to get a court order to evict someone. The law does not allow for any non-judicial means to evict a tenant. Changing the locks, threatening the tenant or removing the tenant’s personal belongings without a court order might result in the tenant filing for civil damages.

Utah 3-Day Eviction Notice

The Utah 3-day Notice to Vacate is also used in cases of nonpayment of rent or in cases where the tenant has violated a material lease provision such as committing a criminal act on the premises, creating a nuisance or damaging the property.

The notice must specify the reason for eviction or the amount of rent due. The tenant should also get the opportunity to rectify the situation within the 3-days. If there is no compliance, the lease will be considered cancelled and the tenant must either vacate or face an Unlawful Detainer lawsuit.

Utah 5-Day Eviction Notice

For holdovers, or those tenants who remain on the rental property past the lease’s expiration date, the Notice to vacate is 5-days.

Utah 15-Day Eviction Notice

For month-to-month leases, the notice period is 15-days. The landlord must advise the tenant that the lease will expire at the end of the current rental period and will not be renewed.

If the lease specifies a longer notice period, the lease notice period applies.

For more information about Utah Eviction Laws please visit:

http://www.utcourts.gov/howto/landlord/eviction.html

http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/HUD?src=/states/utah/renting/tenantrights


Use Houserie for all your tenant screening needs!

Houserie's online tenant screening process offers you everything you need to complete tenant background checks on prospective renters. With our Pay-As- You-Go-System, there's no set-up fee and no monthly membership. Simply choose the tenant screening package that meets your specific needs, our fully automated system will do the rest.

SCREENING PACKAGES AVAILABLE Custom Sample Report Basic $19.95 Premier $24.95 Ultimate $29.95

Social Security Number Trace

image image image

National Criminal and Sex offender Search

image image image

National Eviction Search

image image image

Quick Tenant Credit Score Card

image image image
Custom Sample Report

LEGAL DISCLAIMER

The information contained in this site is for general guidance on matters of interest only. The application and impact of laws can vary widely based on the specific facts involved. Given the changing nature of laws, rules and regulations, and the inherent hazards of electronic communication, there may be delays, omissions or inaccuracies in information contained in this site, even though we have made every attempt to ensure that the information in this site has been obtained from reliable sources. Accordingly, the information on this site is provided "as is," with no guarantee of completeness, accuracy, timeliness or of the results obtained from the use of this information, with the understanding that the authors and publishers are not herein engaged in rendering legal advice and services. As such, it should not be used as a substitute for consultation with an attorney. Use of and access to this Web site or any of the e-mail links contained within the site do not create any attorney-client relationship between any employees of Houserie and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of Houserie or any individual employee. Before making any decision or taking any action, you should consult an attorney.