Texas Eviction Laws
A residential landlord must adhere to Texas state law when evicting a tenant.The Texas eviction process provides for a standard eviction procedure or an expedited one at the option of the landlord.
Tenant Self-Eviction Law
Denying a tenant access to the property is considered self eviction and not allowed in most states. However, in Texas law permits a landlord to change the locks for nonpayment of rent if it is written in the lease and the landlord has given the tenant at least 3-days written notice and such notice is personally delivered or 5-days if mailed.
This notice must advise the tenant of the date the locks will be changed, the amount of rent due and the location where the rent may be paid or a meeting will be held. It must also clearly state that the tenant will receive a new key after a meeting with the landlord regardless of whether the past due rent is owed, though the landlord may continue eviction proceedings.
If the written lease states in bold or underlined words that a landlord can remove a tenant's property to secure payment of rent owed, the landlord is allowed to do this. The landlord may only take non-exempt items such as electronics and computers and must leave a notice of entry and a written inventory of the items seized. The tenant, however, can refuse entry to the property and the landlord must comply. If the tenant pays the rent owed, the landlord must return the taken items but can charge the tenant for costs incurred.
Demand for Possession
A Texas eviction notice (Demand for Possession) must be in writing and can be 24 hours if it is specified in the lease and 3 days if it is not specified in the lease. The 3-days is for any violation of the lease.
The Texas eviction notice must specify the number of days the tenant has to either pay the rent, rectify the violation of the lease or vacate. Texas is the only state where the landlord does not have to specify the reason for eviction in the notice to vacate.
For more information about Texas Eviction Laws please visit:
Use Houserie for all your tenant screening needs!
Houserie's online tenant screening process offers you everything you need to complete tenant background checks on prospective renters. With our Pay-As- You-Go-System, there's no set-up fee and no monthly membership. Simply choose the tenant screening package that meets your specific needs, our fully automated system will do the rest.
|SCREENING PACKAGES AVAILABLE||Basic $19.95||Premier $24.95||Ultimate $29.95|
Social Security Number Trace
National Criminal and Sex offender Search
National Eviction Search
Quick Tenant Credit Score Card
The information contained in this site is for general guidance on matters of interest only. The application and impact of laws can vary widely based on the specific facts involved. Given the changing nature of laws, rules and regulations, and the inherent hazards of electronic communication, there may be delays, omissions or inaccuracies in information contained in this site, even though we have made every attempt to ensure that the information in this site has been obtained from reliable sources. Accordingly, the information on this site is provided "as is," with no guarantee of completeness, accuracy, timeliness or of the results obtained from the use of this information, with the understanding that the authors and publishers are not herein engaged in rendering legal advice and services. As such, it should not be used as a substitute for consultation with an attorney. Use of and access to this Web site or any of the e-mail links contained within the site do not create any attorney-client relationship between any employees of Houserie and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of Houserie or any individual employee. Before making any decision or taking any action, you should consult an attorney.