Tennessee Eviction Laws
The eviction laws in Tennessee depend on what county you are in. The 10 counties in which landlords must adhere to the URLTA (Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act) are Anderson, Blount, Bradley, Davidson, Hamilton, Madison, Montgomery, Shelby, Sumner and Knox, which is contained in the Tennessee Code under Title 66, Chapter 28. This act covers all the rules concerning the relationship between landlords and tenant for those counties. If you do not live in one of those counties, the eviction law is governed by local law or common law. If you are a landlord in Tennessee, it is a good idea to familiarize yourself with the laws in your county.
For counties covered by the URLTA the following laws apply:
Tenant Self-Eviction is Unlawful in Tennessee
A landlord is under no circumstances allowed to forcibly remove a tenant without obtaining a court order. Acts like shutting off essential services like heat and electricity, removing the tenants personal property, changing the locks or threatening the tenant are all cases of self eviction.
30-Day Eviction Notice to Vacate
A landlord in the counties covered by the URLTA must give 30-days notice to a tenant who either has not paid the rent or who has violated some other provision in the lease. This Tennessee eviction notice state the reason for eviction and the rent amount owed. The tenant will then be given a 14-day period to take care of the issue or the lease will be cancelled in 30-days and legal action will begin.
14-Day Eviction Notice to Vacate
I a tenant breaches the lease contract for the same reason within 6 months of the first violation, the landlord only needs to give a 14 day notice and no opportunity to remedy the situation.
For counties not covered by the URLTA the following laws apply:
14-Day Notice to vacate
In case of nonpayment, property damage and health and safety violations.
30-Day Notice to vacate
In case of other violations.
3-Day Notice to vacate
In case of severe damage of property, physical violence, and danger to others.
For more information about Tennessee Eviction Laws please visit:
Use Houserie for all your tenant screening needs!
Houserie's online tenant screening process offers you everything you need to complete tenant background checks on prospective renters. With our Pay-As- You-Go-System, there's no set-up fee and no monthly membership. Simply choose the tenant screening package that meets your specific needs, our fully automated system will do the rest.
|SCREENING PACKAGES AVAILABLE||Basic $19.95||Premier $24.95||Ultimate $29.95|
Social Security Number Trace
National Criminal and Sex offender Search
National Eviction Search
Quick Tenant Credit Score Card
The information contained in this site is for general guidance on matters of interest only. The application and impact of laws can vary widely based on the specific facts involved. Given the changing nature of laws, rules and regulations, and the inherent hazards of electronic communication, there may be delays, omissions or inaccuracies in information contained in this site, even though we have made every attempt to ensure that the information in this site has been obtained from reliable sources. Accordingly, the information on this site is provided "as is," with no guarantee of completeness, accuracy, timeliness or of the results obtained from the use of this information, with the understanding that the authors and publishers are not herein engaged in rendering legal advice and services. As such, it should not be used as a substitute for consultation with an attorney. Use of and access to this Web site or any of the e-mail links contained within the site do not create any attorney-client relationship between any employees of Houserie and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of Houserie or any individual employee. Before making any decision or taking any action, you should consult an attorney.