Kansas Eviction Laws
The Kansas eviction process has a few unique features from other states. These depend on the type of notice required and the time limits for tenants to vacate, which can extend the time for an eviction to several weeks.
Tenant Self Eviction
Attempting to evict a tenant by force, by shutting off utilities, denying the tenant access to the property or by threatening the tenant is illegal. Damages include having to pay the tenant 1.5 times the rent or the tenant’s actual damages, whichever is higher, attorney’s fees and possibly punitive damages in especially egregious cases.
3-Day Notice to Quit
For nonpayment of rent, the Kansas eviction process requires that a 3-day notice be used. The notice should indicate the amount of rent owed and advise the tenant that the lease will terminate unless the tenant pays the required rent within the 3 days, and that legal action will be sought if the tenant remains on the premises after failing to pay the rent.
14/30-Day Notice for Noncompliance
For material noncompliance with the rental agreement other than nonpayment of rent, the landlord must serve the tenant with a Kansas eviction notice of 14-days for the tenant to comply with the particular lease provision that has been violated. It must state that the lease will terminate 14 days after service unless the situation is remedied and that if there is noncompliance, the tenant must vacate within the following 30-days or legal action will commence.
For month-to-month leases, a landlord can terminate the lease without having to give a reason and by giving the tenant 30-days to leave the property.
Service of the Tenant Eviction Notice
Any Kansas eviction notice must be properly served or the eviction suit may be dismissed. A tenant can be served personally on the tenant or on a resident who is at least 12 years old. If this is not possible, the landlord can post the notice to the unit’s door or by placing it in some other conspicuous place. The Kansas eviction process also allows notice to be sent by registered or certified mail. Any type of service must attested to with some courts requiring more proof such as a photo of the notice affixed to the door in case the tenant denies service.
For more information about Kansas Eviction Laws please go to:
Use Houserie for all your tenant screening needs!
Houserie's online tenant screening process offers you everything you need to complete tenant background checks on prospective renters. With our Pay-As- You-Go-System, there's no set-up fee and no monthly membership. Simply choose the tenant screening package that meets your specific needs, our fully automated system will do the rest.
|SCREENING PACKAGES AVAILABLE||Basic $19.95||Premier $24.95||Ultimate $29.95|
Social Security Number Trace
National Criminal and Sex offender Search
National Eviction Search
Quick Tenant Credit Score Card
The information contained in this site is for general guidance on matters of interest only. The application and impact of laws can vary widely based on the specific facts involved. Given the changing nature of laws, rules and regulations, and the inherent hazards of electronic communication, there may be delays, omissions or inaccuracies in information contained in this site, even though we have made every attempt to ensure that the information in this site has been obtained from reliable sources. Accordingly, the information on this site is provided "as is," with no guarantee of completeness, accuracy, timeliness or of the results obtained from the use of this information, with the understanding that the authors and publishers are not herein engaged in rendering legal advice and services. As such, it should not be used as a substitute for consultation with an attorney. Use of and access to this Web site or any of the e-mail links contained within the site do not create any attorney-client relationship between any employees of Houserie and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of Houserie or any individual employee. Before making any decision or taking any action, you should consult an attorney.