California Eviction Laws
In the California eviction process, any type of self-eviction is deemed illegal and can lead to financial damages that must be payed by the landlord. For instance, if the landlord attempts to deny the tenant access to the unit by changing the locks, shutting off utilities, etc. the landlord is liable to $100 everyday of the illegal treatment.
Tenant Eviction Notices
If the lease has ended and the landlord wishes to evict the tenant, a 30-day notice is required if the tenant has been there for less than a year. If the tenant has been there for more than a year, a 60-day notice is necessary.
A 3-day notice is needed for these types of evictions:
- Delinquency of rent
- Rupture or rebelliousness with a material procurement in the lease assention
- Making an aggravation, for example, by collecting waste and trash on the property
- Lead that really influences the wellbeing and security of others
- Unlawful action on the premises
Administration of the Tenant Eviction Notice
The 3-day notice must to served personally to the tenant or a subtenant of the proper age, or the workplace of the tenant. If these are not possible the notice can be posted to the unit. In the of serving a subtenant or leaving a posting of the notice, a copy must also be sent by certified mail.
The eviction notice should detail the amount of rent due, a date the outstanding rent must be paid, the clarity the aspect of the rental agreement that have been violated, and signify that an unlawful detainer claim will be filed if there is no compliance. Further, the notice ought to detail an exact date by which the unit must be executed if there is noncompliance. The 3-day period start the day after the tent has received the notice or the notice was posted.
In the case of material noncompliance with the rental agreement, the landlord has the ability to automatically end the lease without giving the tenant an option to comply.
For more information about California Eviction Laws please go to:
Use Houserie for all your tenant screening needs!
Houserie's online tenant screening process offers you everything you need to complete tenant background checks on prospective renters. With our Pay-As- You-Go-System, there's no set-up fee and no monthly membership. Simply choose the tenant screening package that meets your specific needs, our fully automated system will do the rest.
|SCREENING PACKAGES AVAILABLE||Basic $19.95||Premier $24.95||Ultimate $29.95|
Social Security Number Trace
National Criminal and Sex offender Search
National Eviction Search
Quick Tenant Credit Score Card
The information contained in this site is for general guidance on matters of interest only. The application and impact of laws can vary widely based on the specific facts involved. Given the changing nature of laws, rules and regulations, and the inherent hazards of electronic communication, there may be delays, omissions or inaccuracies in information contained in this site, even though we have made every attempt to ensure that the information in this site has been obtained from reliable sources. Accordingly, the information on this site is provided "as is," with no guarantee of completeness, accuracy, timeliness or of the results obtained from the use of this information, with the understanding that the authors and publishers are not herein engaged in rendering legal advice and services. As such, it should not be used as a substitute for consultation with an attorney. Use of and access to this Web site or any of the e-mail links contained within the site do not create any attorney-client relationship between any employees of Houserie and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of Houserie or any individual employee. Before making any decision or taking any action, you should consult an attorney.