Arkansas Eviction Laws

In Arkansas, landlords have two option when it comes to evicting tenants for not paying rent. A civil eviction known as an unlawful detainer, or a criminal eviction called failure to vacate. For any other reason besides delinquency of rent, the landlord must use to civil eviction process.

Tenant Self Eviction

No landlord is able to forcibly evict a tenant by using extreme measures such as turning off utility services, locking the tenant out of the rented premise, or by any physical threats.

A unique aspect of the Arkansas eviction process is that if the landlord chooses to evict the tenant using the failure to vacate option, it can be ruled as a misdemeanor.

Teant Eviction Notice Requirements

The Arkansas eviction notice process requires all landlords to follow the 3-Day Notice to Quit if the unlawful detainer method is chosen. This means the tenant only have three days to pay the outstanding balance, with the date of service being the first day.

If the failure to vacate method is being utilized by the landlord, the tenant must be given a 10 day notice to pay the rent owed.

If the rental agreement is being terminated due to material noncompliance, there must be 14 days for the tenant to comply. The notice should contain details of specific violations of the contract, as well as the date that the terms must be met by.

If there is no written rental agreement, the landlord may end the lease at whatever time and for any reason once the landowner has given the tenant one rental period's notice.

For more information about Arkansas Eviction Laws please go to:


Use Houserie for all your tenant screening needs!

Houserie's online tenant screening process offers you everything you need to complete tenant background checks on prospective renters. With our Pay-As- You-Go-System, there's no set-up fee and no monthly membership. Simply choose the tenant screening package that meets your specific needs, our fully automated system will do the rest.

SCREENING PACKAGES AVAILABLE Custom Sample Report Basic $19.95 Premier $24.95 Ultimate $29.95

Social Security Number Trace

image image image

National Criminal and Sex offender Search

image image image

National Eviction Search

image image image

Quick Tenant Credit Score Card

image image image
Custom Sample Report

LEGAL DISCLAIMER

The information contained in this site is for general guidance on matters of interest only. The application and impact of laws can vary widely based on the specific facts involved. Given the changing nature of laws, rules and regulations, and the inherent hazards of electronic communication, there may be delays, omissions or inaccuracies in information contained in this site, even though we have made every attempt to ensure that the information in this site has been obtained from reliable sources. Accordingly, the information on this site is provided "as is," with no guarantee of completeness, accuracy, timeliness or of the results obtained from the use of this information, with the understanding that the authors and publishers are not herein engaged in rendering legal advice and services. As such, it should not be used as a substitute for consultation with an attorney. Use of and access to this Web site or any of the e-mail links contained within the site do not create any attorney-client relationship between any employees of Houserie and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of Houserie or any individual employee. Before making any decision or taking any action, you should consult an attorney.